top of page

Blog

It's been a while...


Why has it been so long since we've updated anything!?

Well, to be honest, running a rescue is tough. (Running a business is also tough and that's needed my main focus for the past 6+ months because of some difficulties we were having...which I'm happy to say are diminishing right before my eyes because of wonderful management we have in place now!)

Not being able to have and find committed foster homes is tough.

Finding a dog, finding a foster home, to find out someone else has already fostered them is wonderful news but also something I wish we could have helped with.

But that's life and life isn't always fair, just ask the animals.

So I've been thinking, (it's also hard to get everyone together so I've had to do some thinking alone!) on what I'd like to focus on next.

We have money in our bank account waiting to help someone.

I kept thinking, "What can we do with this money?"

My thought is, I would love to sponsor a few cats and dogs (seniors and handicapped ONLY since that's what we're all about at WVAR) from shelters.

I am praying that the shelters will open their arms to this idea and allow us to do this. I've been shut down by a few in the past for wanting to help and am a little nervous to come back. But it's all for the animals and they're worth every try.

If anyone would like to help with anything PLEASE let me know! This takes an army of people who are truly committed. This is ALL volunteer work and nobody gets paid for this. We do have some directors terms that are up and would love to have more people on board that can help us reach our mission.

Any foster homes please remember that we do pay for ALL your expenses. Literally anything to care for your cat or dog. We would really like to focus on senior and handicapped animals as those are ones who need it the most, especially out of a shelter environment. Please consider opening your heart and home to an animal in need.

If you want to get hooked up with us please email woodvioletar@gmail.com OR melissa@dogsanctuarywi.com. I check my work one more frequently but I do check Wood Violet at least 4 times a week.

Love to you all!

Melissa Etzler

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page